Welcome to the NC State Department of Chem­istry. Our award-winning re­search­ers and teachers guide stu­dents through a broad, rigorous curri­cu­lum, and our grad­uates have been highly suc­cess­ful in both aca­demia and in­dus­try. Our re­search pro­grams cover a di­verse spec­trum including analytical, inorganic, organic, physical, biological, polymers, materials, nanoscience, theoretical, and magnetic resonance.

Contact Information

Undergraduate studies and enrollment assistance:
Katie Elliott

Dabney Hall, Room 208, Box 8204
2620 Yarbrough Drive, Raleigh, NC 27695-8204

Hours of Administrative offices:
8am-5pm, M-F

Phone: (919) 515-2355
Fax: (919) 515-5079

News & Events

View all posts

Two chemistry faculty receive 2017 Chancellor’s Innovation Funds to commercialize research discoveries

Dr. Reza Ghiladi and Dr. Gavin Williams have each received Chancellor’s Innovation Funds to help commercialize technology developed in their labs. In total, seven CIF awards were made after a lengthy and rigorous selection process that culminated in an innovators pitch to a panel of investors and venture capitalists. Ghiladi, along with collaborators and co-inventors Dimitris Argyropoulos (Department of Forest Biomaterials) and Frank Scholle (Department of Biological Sciences) will develop novel anti-infective coatings that are activated by light. Williams will turn E. coli into antibiotic-producing factories by using synthetic biology.

More information about the CIF program and the 2017 winners can be found here. Posted August 14, 2016

Mongin, Garakyaraghi, and Castellano recognized by International Society for Optics and Photonics

Dr. Cédric Mongin (Postdoctoral Fellow), Sofia Garakyaraghi (Graduate Student), and Professor Felix N. Castellano have been recognized by the International Society for Optics and Photonics for their work in developing a semiconductor quantum dot photosenthesizers which are as effective as molecular triplet photosynthesizers in solar energy conversion processes. You can read about their work here.
Posted August 3, 2016

Phi Lambda Upsilon co-organizes the Inaugural Academia to Industry Chemistry Graduate Student Networking Event

The chemistry department at NC State hosted its first graduate student networking event April 14th. Over twenty representatives from companies including Avazymes, BASF, Biogen, CREE, Eastman, the Environmental Protection Agency, GlaxoSmithKline, Meso Scale Discovery, Novozymes, RTI International, Syngenta, and LORD Corp were in attendance to network and socialize with almost forty graduate students. Thank you to the faculty, staff, and graduate students responsible for the planning and execution of this successful event. Posted June 13, 2016

Gufeng Wang's nanocar research in the news

Dr. Gufeng Wang's research on ambient temperature single-molecule molecular control is in the news. Read more about his group's efforts to drive their nanocars: https://news.ncsu.edu/2016/06/nanocar/ and here: https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/06/ 160601112553.htm. Their research article can be found in the Journal of Physical Chemistry C (DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.6b01249). Posted June 6, 2016

Departmental TA and RA awards announced

The chemistry graduate awards committee announces the following awardees of the departmental TA and RA awards:

  • Robert A. Osteryoung Award for Research -
    Elijah Gordon
  • Percy Lavon Julian Award for Research -
    Christian Kasey, Yasamin Moazami
  • Miles F. Anderson Award for Teaching -
    Rachel Hall, Brandon Zoellner
  • Bereman Family Award for Teaching -
    Bradley Losey, Damaris Perez

Their awards will be presented at the departmental graduation ceremonies on May 6. Posted May 3, 2016

View all posts